TweakPC

Zurück   Computer Hardware Forum - TweakPC > Hersteller Foren > ASRock Support > ASRock Intel Mainboards


Antwort
 
LinkBack Themen-Optionen Ansicht
Alt 10.04.2017, 12:38   #1 (permalink)
Neuling
 

Registriert seit: 10.04.2017
Beiträge: 2

Azrael5 befindet sich auf einem aufstrebenden Ast

Standard 4coredual-sata2 2.20a 8-way bank interleave broken-4GB DDR2

Since all the modified bios, the 8-way bank interleave is broken hanging the system or generating issues after the first boot: errors appear on the POST concerning the single channel and the overall amount of the memory wrongly indicated in the bios main page: 11964 single channel 2048MB first dimm and 512MB the second dimm although 4GB of ram are used in dual channel. No problem appears on 4coredual-vsta on the same situation. So the modified bios on 4coredual-sata2 has some kind of inconvenient. Is it possible to fix it so that the DDR2 which supports 8-way bank interleave, get benefit of this function (8-way allows to increase the memory bandwidth of 420MB/s to the total)? Note that the 8-way is recognized when official bios is used plugging one only DIMM DDR2 2GB while it is recognized as 4-way when the modified bios is used and one only DIMM DDR2 2GB is plugged.
Azrael5 ist offline   Mit Zitat antworten
Alt 14.04.2017, 16:44   #2 (permalink)
Overclocker
 
Benutzerbild von ASrock_User
 

Registriert seit: 18.05.2005
Ort: irgendwo
Beiträge: 205

ASrock_User befindet sich auf einem aufstrebenden Ast

Standard AW: 4coredual-sata2 2.20a 8-way bank interleave broken-4GB DDR2

Hi!

Could you give us some more information about your system and the used modules?
However, the board is quite old and I'm very unsure if people at asrock will create a new bios.
ASrock_User ist offline   Mit Zitat antworten
Alt 16.04.2017, 11:09   #3 (permalink)
Neuling
 

Registriert seit: 10.04.2017
Beiträge: 2

Azrael5 befindet sich auf einem aufstrebenden Ast

Standard AW: 4coredual-sata2 2.20a 8-way bank interleave broken-4GB DDR2

Zitat:
Zitat von ASrock_User Beitrag anzeigen
Hi!

Could you give us some more information about your system and the used modules?
However, the board is quite old and I'm very unsure if people at asrock will create a new bios.
I use 2 modueles PQI 4-4-4-12 I've used 2 modules G.skill 4-4-4-10 both DDR2 at 533mhz (1066) both supporting 8-way.
HD3850 AGP GPU; 128MB AGP APERTURE SIZE.

Official bios was made for only 2GB: if I install 1 ddr2 module of 2GB bios detect it as 8-way when bios is official the same module is detected in 4-way when the bios is 2.20a or other kind of modified bios release and AUTO option is set into the bios section. The modified bios has changed something causing regression on bank interleave. Consider that the increase if 420 MB/s allow the bandwidth to reach 2900MB/s measured by memtest86+ that is the bandwidth reached by DDR400 so ddr400 are much more performing than the ddr2. However 8-way seems to fix this gap.

I've made several test with different combination of ram and processors after set 8-way:

e7600+QPI: doesn't work;
x8600+qpi: works the first time (making memtest86+ measurement);
pentium ee 965: works at 12 and 13 ratio doesn't work at 14 ratio,

It seems a problems concerning the ability of processor to measure the right amount of ram or other kind of problem.

I know the board is old but if the fix is simple for example taking again the latest official bios and increasing the whole ram to 4GB would be better for those user which have it for legacy.
Azrael5 ist offline   Mit Zitat antworten
Antwort

Stichworte
220a, 4coredualsata2, 8way, bank, broken4gb, ddr2, interleave


Aktive Benutzer in diesem Thema: 1 (Registrierte Benutzer: 0, Gäste: 1)
 
Themen-Optionen
Ansicht

Forumregeln
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, neue Themen zu verfassen.
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, auf Beiträge zu antworten.
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, Anhänge hochzuladen.
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, deine Beiträge zu bearbeiten.

BB-Code ist an.
Smileys sind an.
[IMG] Code ist an.
HTML-Code ist aus.
Trackbacks are an
Pingbacks are an
Refbacks are an


Ähnliche Themen
Thema Autor Forum Antworten Letzter Beitrag
Probleme mit 4coredual-sata2 und DRAM interleave JAKNIt ASRock Intel Mainboards 14 14.01.2016 18:56
sata vs. sata2 BigBen16 Festplatten und Datenspeicher 6 29.05.2007 21:44
ASUS STRIKER EXTREME. RAM bank kaputt durch Übertakten? Durchgängiger Piepton Haensl CPUs und Mainboards allgemein 11 16.05.2007 16:55
sata,+sata2 festplatten temperaturen! RoE187 Festplatten und Datenspeicher 4 10.08.2006 18:49
2x sata1 raid0 vs. 1x sata2 OC-Freak Festplatten und Datenspeicher 4 14.12.2005 16:44


Alle Zeitangaben in WEZ +1. Es ist jetzt 01:25 Uhr.




Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 (Deutsch)
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Impressum, Datenschutz Copyright © 1999-2015 TweakPC, Alle Rechte vorbehalten, all rights reserved