TweakPC

Zurück   Computer Hardware Forum - TweakPC > Games und Software > Games Talk allgemein

Antwort
 
LinkBack Themen-Optionen Ansicht
Alt 31.08.2005, 18:35   #1 (permalink)
Neuling
 

Registriert seit: 31.08.2005
Beiträge: 1

walter_3_d befindet sich auf einem aufstrebenden Ast

Standard Great application for the X-Box

I just setup a Pluto Home system (smarthome + media server, plutohome.com, free open source). It’s really cool. It has a streaming movie server, music server, pvr. Plus it does home automation and controls a/v equipment too. There’s only 1 problem…

You designate 1 PC to be the server; they call it the core. It exposes a network boot image for any other PC in the house, so your PC becomes dual purpose—normal pc, or net boot and it’s a set top box. You control it with Bluetooth mobile phones or web pads. And all the set top boxes in the house work together. Your media even follows you as you move from room to room if you keep the phone on. The problem is I don’t have enough media pc’s for all the rooms in my house, and buying a full PC for each room is too expensive. Plus there’s no video cards for the PC that have component video output—which is the only way I can get HDTV into my tv.

The X-Box seems perfect as a media director. It’s a PC inside, right? So why couldn’t it boot like normal as an Xbox, or net boot as a pluto media director? Then it would be part of a whole house solution that did everything. I could even use the Xbox to turn on my sprinklers if I wanted, and do all sorts of stuff with it. Plus, since Pluto gives it a network boot image, space is no longer an issue—all the software could be stored on the main server. And the XBox has component video and it’s quiet and cheap.

Does anybody have an idea if it would be possible to use the XBox as a media director like that, doing a network boot? Then I could just buy a few of the XBox’s rather than having to buy regular PC’s.
walter_3_d ist offline   Mit Zitat antworten
Alt 01.09.2005, 02:55   #2 (permalink)
Cool Master
Gast
 

Beiträge: n/a

Standard AW: Great application for the X-Box

Hmmm... I would guess that it might be possible with Xbox 360 I'm not sure tough.
  Mit Zitat antworten
Alt 01.09.2005, 03:14   #3 (permalink)
Stickstoff Junkie
 

Registriert seit: 06.07.2004
Beiträge: 3.814

Qndre wird schon bald berühmt werden

Standard AW: Great application for the X-Box

The jacks where you put your game controllers in are controlled by an USB 1.1 root hub at 8 megabit per second datarate. You can theoretically plug in any hardware using an adapter. You can plug in a usb network controller, a keyboard, a mouse, just any USB device. Some people managed to run linux kernels on the X-Box.

X-Box uses a 733 MHz CPU of the 686 series, 64 MB of memory, a GeForce-3 graphics core supporting DirectX 7 (DX 8 also supported? Don't know.), DVD-Rom and of course a LAN-Controller @ 100 Mbit/sec.

Maybe these sites can help you:
http://www.xbox-linux.org/
http://www.xbox-linux.org/wiki/Xbox_HDTV_HOWTO

Geändert von Qndre (01.09.2005 um 03:22 Uhr)
Qndre ist offline   Mit Zitat antworten
Antwort

Stichworte
application, great, the, xbox


Aktive Benutzer in diesem Thema: 1 (Registrierte Benutzer: 0, Gäste: 1)
 
Themen-Optionen
Ansicht

Forumregeln
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, neue Themen zu verfassen.
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, auf Beiträge zu antworten.
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, Anhänge hochzuladen.
Es ist dir nicht erlaubt, deine Beiträge zu bearbeiten.

BB-Code ist an.
Smileys sind an.
[IMG] Code ist aus.
HTML-Code ist aus.
Trackbacks are an
Pingbacks are an
Refbacks are an


Ähnliche Themen
Thema Autor Forum Antworten Letzter Beitrag
[News] Google Street View erfasst das Great Barrier Reef TweakPC Newsbot News 0 23.02.2012 16:24
Avira spinnt: The application module cannot be started Speedfighter Security & SPAM 6 17.04.2009 12:50
ATI Catalyst Control Center - Host application Fehler *moogle* AMD/ATI Radeon Grafikkarten 14 21.02.2009 18:26
fernbedienung; application not found lookfor64 Audio und Video 0 16.08.2007 20:08
ATI CCC Host application error Hilfe!?!?! mat AMD/ATI Radeon Grafikkarten 0 12.07.2007 12:08


Alle Zeitangaben in WEZ +1. Es ist jetzt 11:05 Uhr.






Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.10 (Deutsch)
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2 ©2010, Crawlability, Inc.
Impressum, Datenschutz Copyright © 1999-2015 TweakPC, Alle Rechte vorbehalten, all rights reserved